Virtual Reality

I never made it to 30 dates.

Sigh.

I got 1/3 of the way there, which counts for something I guess.

 

I did meet a guy at a Fourth of July party this past weekend who seemed really nice. We exchanged numbers but I have yet to hear from him.

I did, however, just receive a Facebook friend request from him.

I want to first say that I’m keeping an open mind, and this in no way means that he’s out of the running.

So to all of my friends/family who are reading this and already drafting a text or email chastising me for being too picky – hear me out before you get all judgey.

BUT…

The fact that he went out of his way to find me on Facebook and has yet to (at the very least) text me, makes me feel a certain way. He asked me at least three times if he could call me/take me out or some variation of that, but instead of actually using my number he took the time to search through friends of friends to find me on Facebook.

It takes a while…trust me – I looked for his profile as well. I couldn’t remember exactly what he looked like so I went searching for pictures. But I didn’t friend request him. I also wasn’t the one who made such a big deal about calling and hanging out.

I guess it just speaks to the state of communication these days.  You have my phone number…the most direct way to contact me. I’m willing to bet half of my ‘friends’ on Facebook don’t even have my phone number. Instead of using that number (that you nervously went out of your way to get) to develop a real life connection or friendship, you’d rather be my virtual friend.

Again, I get that it’s not THAT big of a deal. And he might actually give me a call or text tomorrow.

Now I’m stuck with a pending friend request taunting my home page. A tiny little red 1 waiting to be answered…the thing is, we’re not friends right now. I don’t need him to have access to all my photos and status updates. He doesn’t need to know where I am or who I’m with if someone happens to tag me somewhere. I don’t even know the guy, and if we end up not being friends in real life, it’s so much easier to just not reach out to someone than it is to de-friend them. The latter takes so much effort and holds much more weight than simply ignoring a person’s calls.

Leave a Reply

