9 and 10

Ok, I’m behind on posting about my recent dates…so I’m going to put 9 and 10 into one post because I’d like to get past this guy as quickly as possible.

Read on…you’ll see why

9

The day after date 8, ‘the singer’ texted me to ask how my day was going. I told him I was crazy busy at work, and he offered to bring me sushi.

I was confused…I told him that I wouldn’t be able to actually eat lunch with him because I was too busy to leave. And he said “it’s ok, I’ll eat mine before I come, and just drop yours off to you.”

What?? How sweet is that?! And he actually did it. He came all the way downtown, brought me lunch, gave me a hug and left. Seriously, the nicest thing someone has done for me.

That night we had plans to hang out for a little while. So we met up and watched a movie at my place. When he got there he had some Caribbean food in hand for me. Again – super sweet!

The next day I heard from him via text and he wanted to hang out again. I told him I couldn’t because I had my first grad school class that night and wouldn’t be home until 11pm or later. So he asked if we could hang out the next night. Again, I told him that I don’t think it would be a good idea because I had homework to get done. I explained to him that I really liked hanging out with him, but my schedule is a little crazy right now because I had just started my Master’s Program and I’m still adjusting to the new workload. He said he understood and that we’d plan something for that weekend.

Then Wednesday he text me during the day to check in and I told him how much work my classes are and that I would be heading right home from work to get caught up on homework for the rest of the night.

Then he calls me that night and wants to talk for an hour. Again, I had to explain to him that, while I would love to talk to him for hours I really needed to focus on my work. Between my job and my classes, I was incredibly stressed out and needed to get everything under control.

Then he asked to hang out Thursday night.

Sigh.

I told him that I actually had my Krav Maga class on Thursday nights and since I can only go once a week I really couldn’t cancel it. I told him I got out at 930 and then was heading right home.

At 9:45 he called me.

I explained to him, again, about my workload. But I told him that we could meet up Friday after work for a quick bite to eat.

That was date 10

It went very well. He was very sweet, a gentlemen…all that. We had dinner and grabbed another drink afterwards at a nearby bar. Then he walked me to the subway and I headed home at a reasonable hour so I could get up the next morning to do work.

I was supposed to see him that Sunday to watch the Superbowl, but I ended up canceling because…yeah..the homework thing. He was very understanding about it, which was a relief.

Then Monday happened. We were texting a little throughout the day, and he said to call him when I got home and settled, because he had something he wanted to talk to me about.

Oh boy.

I told him to just tell me now, I’m not a fan of that dramatic, ‘we need to talk’ nonsense, especially at this stage in the game. But he assured me it was actually good news so I let it go.

I called him when I got home and he basically asked me to co-sign a 150,000 loan for him.

Yeah…you definitely read that right, but go ahead and re-read that line anyway.

Apparently, his ‘financial consulting’ business helps get people large loans. The way he explained it was that I would sign on as the PG (personal guarantor) for a loan, and after 7 days when the loan went through, my name would be taken off the loan and he would be solely responsible for it.

And he’d give me 15,000 for my troubles.

To say I was in shock is an understatement. I had known this man for 1 week and a day. And he’s asking me to be a PG on a loan?? For 150,000 dollars?

Kanye-West-Blank-stare

111267

When I told him that 1. I don’t mix business (or more accurately MONEY) with pleasure, and 2.  I was really uncomfortable with the fact that he even asked me to do something like that…he just kept going..trying to sell me on the idea. He said:

“Just think about it and let me know. And whatever you decide won’t affect what we have. I just thought this is something we could both benefit from, but if you don’t want to do it, it’s cool”

Yeah…but no…it’s not ‘cool.’ There are so many reasons things are no longer ‘cool’ with us. I’ve known you for A WEEK and you’re trying to get me involved in some SUPER SHADY sounding nonsense?!

He told me that he could put me in touch with ‘his business partner’ and he would explain everything to me in better detail.

GagaStop

I’m done.  There will be no more dates with ‘the singer’ ‘the scammer’.

One thought on “9 and 10

  1. Pingback: [Don't] Google It | Chronicles of the Romantically Challenged

Leave a Reply

