#1

A few months ago, my friend convinced me to try Tinder, a new dating app she had just downloaded. I had recently given up on the whole ‘online dating’ thing (too many weirdos), but she eventually managed to convince me to give it a shot.

It was surprisingly addicting! For those of you who don’t know about it, the app links to your facebook profile, accessing only your age, first name, interests, friends, and up to 5 profile pictures of your choosing. You set your gender, age, and distance preferences and then the app matches you with people based on those settings. All you get is a picture(s) of the person, along with their age, any matching interests, and any friends that you may have in common.

No long profiles to fill out or personality questions to ask. Either you’re attracted to the person or you’re not. If yes, then you swipe their picture to the right. If you’re not, swipe left.

If you like someone and they like you back, then you have a match and you can message each other.

So, I downloaded the app and started messaging back and forth with one of my matches by the end of the day. I was on the fence about some of his pictures, but he seemed really nice, and he was incredibly funny so we ended up exchanging numbers and eventually graduated to texting each other before deciding to meet up the following weekend.

He worked a lot of overnights, so we decided to meet up at noon for coffee at a cafe in my area.

He was much better looking in person and SO funny! We sat at the coffee shop for at least an hour talking and making jokes. Our senses of humor matched up perfectly.

He mentioned a donut shop a few blocks down the road that was supposed to have the most amazing donuts in Brooklyn, and when I told him that I had never been there, he demanded suggested that we go there immediately.

The donuts were amazing!

We each got one and went across the street and sat on a bench in the park to eat and talk.

By the time we finished, a few hours had gone by and he had to get to work. The goodbye was really awkward. We both said we had fun, and said we should hang out again after my surgery (this was right before surgery #2). And then he kind of just stared at me…and then offered his hand out for me to shake.

Super Awkward.

The day went great, and we got along really well, but to be honest I kind of got more of a friend vibe from him. I was still interested in meeting up with him again, but I wasn’t DYING to meet up with him again.

We kept in touch for a few weeks, and then slowly started to reach out to each other less and less. I sent him a text message after I was off my crutches to let him know I was off the crutches and able to meet up if he wanted to hang out. We exchanged a couple of texts that day…but I haven’t heard from him since.

We’ll see what happens, but I’m not banking on running into him again.

2 thoughts on “#1

Leave a Reply

