Liar Liar…

I’m not a ‘newsy’ girl. I don’t watch it, I don’t read it, I don’t listen to it. It’s not that I don’t care it’s just…I guess I don’t care enough.

I know, I know. That’s awful. But, I’m just being honest (unlike some people…keep reading).

When I see people in the subway or on the street handing out free newspapers, I take them just because I feel bad NOT taking them. I don’t usually read them. Mainly I’ll save them and use them to wrap up books I mail out for my online paperbackswap. (Don’t judge me, it saves me a ton of money on books).

Today, as I was getting ready to use one of said newspapers (AM-NY to be exact) to wrap up a few books, the front story caught my eye:

Lying For Love…33% of city’s singles fib when looking for dates online.

Well, of course, I had to read it. It’s a very quick article (written by Sheila Anne Feeney) – you should take a look when you have a second.

Basically, it states that Woman are more likely to lie about their age and weight, and Men are more likely to lie about their height and income.

Shocker.

Personally, I’ve been on 3 dates from OK Cupid – and only 1 of them was truthful about their height. And I’ve known a few friends who’ve dealt with this ‘little’ white online lie as well. It’s really disappointing.

Typically, I just take off a few inches from the height listed. I’d rather be pleasantly surprised than disappointed.

The article also gives a list of the top 5 “most honest” cities and the top 5 ‘least honest cities’ and their most common lies.

New York and Washington D.C. make the Least Honest list for both Men and Woman.

Photo taken from the AM-NY article writen by Sheila Anne Feeney

Photo taken from the AM-NY article writen by Sheila Anne Feeney

I find it hilarious that the most common lies listed for NY Men are “everything.”

Amazing.

I’m still not quite ready to spend money on a newspaper, but I think I’ll actually give those free ones a read from now on!

And speaking of lying online…this sounds a little sketchy to me.

summary

I feel like if you were on your way to becoming a doctor, saying you were in college getting your masters degree “in being a doctor” probably isn’t how you’d word it.

Maybe I’m wrong. But I think I’ll go with my gut on that one.

4 thoughts on “Liar Liar…

  1. i think “everything” on this guys profile is a lie, the only sure thing is the time he logged on lol…….. height he’s most likely 5’5 which is short for me, b/c u know any guy under 5’11 is short in my 5’2 book……… also Doctor working at a bank?? really?? wouldnt you be working in a hospital??? idk im just saying. Sounds to me like hes just a tellar at the bank (no harm in that) the harm is, the salary that he put in. Also would a manager at a bank have any time to be in Med school, hmmmn probably not!!! i mean regular tellars work like 6 days a week etc…. this is just all wrong, jeeezzz

Leave a Reply

